The Cross of Tunasán (San Pedro Tunasán, La Laguna)

Posted on

The Cross of Tunasán inside the Church of St. Peter the Apostle, San Pedro Tunasán, La Laguna (12/29/2009).

In Capitán Tiago’s household there is sadness. The windows are closed; the people inside walk on tiptoe, hardly making a noise. It is only in the kitchen that one can attempt to speak in a loud voice. María Clara, the life of the house, is lying ill in bed. The state of her health can be discerned in every face, just as a spiritual malaise can be described from an individual’s features.

“What do you think, Isabel? Shall I give alms to the Cross of Tunasán or to the Cross of Matahóng?” asks the sorrowing father in a low voice. “The Cross of Tunasán grows, but that of Matahóng sweats. Which of the two, do you think is more miraculous?”

Tía Isabel reflects, shakes her head and murmurs:

“Grow… To grow is more miraculous than to sweat. We all sweat but we all do not grow.”

–From José Rizal’s Noli Me Tangere (Chapter 43: The Espadaña Couple), translated into English by the late Mª Soledad Lacson vda. de Locsín–

5 responses »

  1. is it true that the cross is growing?

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Annie,

      I was there a few hours ago (my third consecutive day inside that Church, which is unusual for me). And I keep on pondering about its history and mystery.

      As a Christian, yes, I believe that that cross used to grow. I said “used to” because, sadly, it doesn’t grow anymore. Otherwise, it would have invited an aggressive attention from the general public and mass media.

      I only learned that this cross used to grow from Rizal’s novel, Noli Me Tangere. Other than that, I don’t know much about it. But I think my friend Arnaldo is at the National Library (Ermita, Manila) as I write this, researching as much as he could about this iconic and miraculous Cross of San Pedro Tunasán, La Laguna.

      Although the said cross doesn’t grow anymore, I prayed this morning that it may inspire in me a spiritual growth (which all of us humans need EVERYDAY).

      Thanks for dropping by, Annie.

      Like

      Reply
  2. yes.. that`s what i believed too that the cross does`nt grow anymore. But since regarding with the devotion of the cross i still wanted to know its legend.In fact my mum told me that when she used to go in church many years ago there in our parish, she said that she barely noticed, the cross is not big as what it is now. Thanks for responding to me.. a little info i got from you and your friend is a big help. Hope you could drop by in our parish for sometimes… Since we`ll going to start the celebrating and spearheading it devotions with its usual devotees….

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Church attendance « FILIPINO eSCRIBBLES

  4. Pingback: Serendipity in history | EL FILIPINISMO

Please share your thoughts about this article.