RSS Feed

Daily Archives: February 2, 2010

The Manny Villar zarzuela

Posted on

This time, Villar gets the upper hand…

Villar shows up at Senate, denies raps, then leaves

Senator Manny Villar pulled off a surprise on Tuesday when he suddenly showed up at the Senate to deny the charges against him over the C-5 road project controversy.

But Villar, who stood up in the plenary and delivered a privilege speech, refused to entertain questions from his colleagues and left the session hall after his hour-long rhetoric.

“I stand before the Senate in defense of my name, my honor, my dignity against my accusers in the so called C-5 controversy. To set the record straight and to prove to the senator, who called me coward, na hindi ako duwag [that I am not a coward]. Wala pong duwag na taga-Tondo [No one from Tondo is a coward]!” he said in his speech.

Villar said he stood up to prove to everybody that he was neither a “coward” nor a “liar.”

“Mr. President, I was condemned without the benefit of a fair trial. Alam ko namang hindi ako titigilan. Yan ang dahilan, Mr. President, kaya ayaw kong sumali sa sarswelang ito na ikinubli sa tawag na imbestigasyon [I know that they won’t stop. This is the reason, Mr. President, why I don’t want to join this zarzuela that they call an investigation].”

Read more of the zarzuela at Inquirer.net!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 779 other followers

