Daily Archives: November 27, 2009

Melodic melancholia

Posted on

Problems are supposed to make us strong.

We lost our maids. Nobody’s left to take care of our four kids ages seven months to nine years. Our apartment unit’s a big mess.

We still couldn’t find replacements.

Our issue with CHMI and PAG-IBIG Fund is still unresolved. The new house which we bought in Calambâ, La Laguna that was sold to us by CHMI is in danger of being cancelled. We’ve already paid more or less P100,000 of equity for that house. That is what I have to iron out today, the deadline they gave me.

Our two youngest boys, Jefe and Juanito, are still in Bacoor, Cavite, being taken care of by my wife’s relatives. But they’re contacting Yeyette; they said that they couldn’t take care of them anymore. Our two eldest, Krystal and Momay, have to fend for themselves alone in our apartment. We leave them there at night so that we could go to work. But, my golly, they’re too young…

My boss already talked to me about my performance and attendance. My performance is not that good because –he’s right– it has something to do with “dedication” issues; I have a hard time balancing my life as an employee and as a writer-historian. And I’ve been absent for a couple of days because of my domestic issues.

My wife’s performance is also under fire. She works in a call center, outbound. She was given a quota. She’s having difficulty in meeting them. For the past few days, her voice is not cooperating with her. Today, she completely lost her voice.

Our credit card debt is ballooning. I was supposed to pay everything today, but then…

…just a few minutes ago, my wife texted me that she lost her wallet with more than P4,000 and other valuables to a pickpocket while she was inside a jeepney on her way to assist Krystal and Momay in preparation for school.

My wife needed to see a doctor regarding her throat problems. But her medical card is inside her stolen wallet.

Both Yeyette and I freaked out last week because of these problems. We almost separated. We’ve patched things up, though. But our domestic troubles aren’t over yet.

Who will take care of our children? I still haven’t had enough sleep for days.

And then depression sets in.

Worse, the Muse seems to have forsaken me; I do not feel the “itch” in my hands anymore…

Problems are supposed to make us strong.