RSS Feed

Hunger thoughts on Yolanda

Posted on

I went on an errand to Calambâ last Monday to pay some bills. I accidentally brought insufficient funds, thus I wasn’t able to buy me some lunch. I was waiting for hours on a long queue while contemplating for food and drink. A smelly character beside me was munching some deep-fried peanuts! I had half a mind asking for some, even if it’s just a couple of half-burnt, half-fried salted garlic bits. It was a crazy, debilitating moment for me, some regular guy with a huge appetite (don’t let my thin frame fool you).

I started to weaken, my sight becoming a blur. I had a book with me to keep me company, but I couldn’t even read it anymore. And I must have swallowed a glassful of spit, a pathetic way to remain hydrated.

I just couldn’t wait to get home!

And then I remembered our poor brothers and sisters in the Visayas region, most of whom haven’t eaten for days on a regular basis. I just missed my lunch, but these poor souls have been missing food for days. Not just a few hours… DAYS!

So don’t you ever dare call their desperate search for food as LOOTING.

To those reading this on their comfy seats who think they have bigger problems: THINK AGAIN.

Please share your thoughts about this article.

