RSS Feed

The Filipino Spirit vs. Yolanda and the Bojol tremors: brief thoughts from a historical viewpoint

Posted on

The Filipino Spirit vs. Yolanda and the Bojol tremors: brief thoughts from a historical viewpoint

Before 1565, we were a disunited bunch. Filipinas as we know it today (as Luzón, Visayas, and Mindanáo) did not exist yet during that time. And it is with certainty that Taclobanons back then were only concerned with their own territory and people. But so it was with Tagalogs, Cebuanos, Bicolanos, and all the rest of the ethnolinguistic tribes that were soon destined to become part of the Filipino nation. Noóng unang panahón, caniá-caniá talagá silá. Each group were concerned only with their internal affairs because each thought of themselves as independent.

But after 1565, all these tribes became ONE NATION. It was our CHRISTIAN FAITH which binded us into ONE PEOPLE. That is why all of us, whether we are in Aparri or in Joló, wept and grieved when the island province of Bojol fell under the mercy of last month’s killer tremors. And now we have the heartwrenching aftermath of Yolanda‘s deadly wrath to contend with. Much of the Visayas region was ravaged by devastating winds never thought to have been possible before. But among the towns and cities that were affected, it was the historic city of Tacloban in Leyte Province, “Ang Puso ng Silañgang Cabisayaan” (The Heart of Eastern Visayas), that was totally destroyed.

So even though many Filipinos have never been to either Bojol or Tacloban, they all feel the same pain and anguish that Bojolanos and Taclobanons feel now because through centuries of Filipinization, they have become our brother Filipinos. They are no longer Waray, and we are no longer Tagalog, Cebuano, Bicolano, etc. We are simply Filipinos as created by the FAITH bequeathed to us by Our Lord and Savior. We have become ONE FILIPINO nation because of our FAITH.

No wonder why, even though our archipielago is a Babel of tongues and microcultures, we do not hesitate to help each other in times of distress. Just like what is occurring at this very moment (it would have been unimaginable before 1565 that a Tagalog would be helping a Visayan and vice versa).

And rest assured that with this FAITH of ours, we shall rise again, in the same manner that it created our unified spirit in 1565…

¡Un gran saludo al espíritu filipino!

6 responses »

  1. Eat your breakfast

    And what of the Moros? Are they not Filipinos? Or the highlander ethnic groups like the Ifugao or the Lumad who still have sizable animist populations? They were the only native groups to successfully resist colonization. No wonder they want to secede with divisive remarks like this. More crusades and jihads will tear this nation apart. I’m unsubscribing.

    Like

    Reply
    • “And what of the Moros? Are they not Filipinos? Or the highlander ethnic groups like the Ifugao or the Lumad who still have sizable animist populations?”

      No, they’re not Filipinos. Sorry. And I won’t take that truth back just for you to remain as a subscriber. That ploy won’t work.

      Truth is always bitter, my friend. You have to learn to deal with it. I did a long time ago.

      You may go ahead and eat your breakfast (pun intended). I hope it’s not a bitter one, though.

      Like

      Reply
      • Reap what you sow

        Haha, and here I thought this blog was written by someone intelligent. Turns out, it’s just another guy with a megalomaniacal complex brainwashed by religion and a weird kind of exclusive nationalism.

        And bitter? I’m not a Muslim nor a Lumad, and though raised Catholic, I’ve long left its folds. And I’m proud to say, I am far more like Jesus than you. I accept all people as people, I do not judge. Neither do I turn away or claim the exclusivity of heaven.

        Keep doing what you’re doing. Jesus had a word to describe your kind of folks – Pharisee. Have a nice day.

        Like

        Reply
        • Hello there, uh, “Reap what you sow”.

          I read your cerebral comments. Thank you. Now, I want you to read this.

          Pay close attention to my last words on that page.

          After reading the page/warning, I will give you 24 hours to apologize. Because if not, I guaranDAMNtee you that you will REGRET what you just did. I’m serious.

          If you don’t believe me, just ask Jeremy Diamsun (jdiamsun@live.com) and seanjandi (precious_janice01@yahoo.com.ph).

          Clock’s ticking, Chinaboy.

          Like

          Reply
          • Reap what you sow

            Dear Pepe,

            I’m very sorry. I swear I’ll never do this again. I should never have insulted you in the first place just because I disagreed with you. It was wrong. Horribly wrong. I was just in a bad mood.

            Oh and one last thing: I’m not sure how you found out, but yeah, I do have Chinese blood from my father’s side. But I never consider myself Chinese. As a matter of fact, I HATE my Chinese heritage. Besides, my f*cking dad is gay. He left us when I was a kid. I was born out of wedlock, and I am not ashamed to tell the whole world that my mom was a mere bar girl. Nevertheless, my mom had more balls than my stinking Chinese father.

            Sorry I had to divulge this. I just need to vent this out.

            Again, my apologies. I hate the world so much because of my past. Pati tuloy ikaw nadamay. Pasensya na po talaga. I will continue to be a fan of your blog even if I do not agree with you most of the time!

            Sincerely yours,

            Reap what you sow

            Like

            Reply
            • OK. Apology accepted.

              But then, after “Eat your breakfast” and “Reap what you sow”, I wonder what’s gonna be your next cowardly codename. “I’m on a diet”?

              Like

              Reply

Please share your thoughts about this article.

