RSS Feed

Easter Sunday Conundrum

Posted on

I know that Easter Sunday falls on 4 April this year. But I couldn’t think of anything to write for today. Mind’s exhausted from too much pondering on historico-religious stuff (not to mention the beating it got from eProcurement the whole shift). So here’s a poem I wrote about a year ago…

EASTER SUNDAY CONUNDRUM
José Mario Alas

As I watch
The Passion of the Christ
On DVD
I eat vegetables for a change
During the part
Where the Son of Man
Was reduced to a bloody
Piece of mollified meat.
And then I begin to wonder:
How did God the Father above
Feel as He was watching His
Son scourged and beaten and
Crucified
?

“Quid est veritas?”
Asked the consul.
I say:
The truth
Is in
The vegetables
That I eat.

04/12/09

Copyright © 2010
José Mario Alas
Manila, Philippines
All rights reserved.

James Caviezel playing the role of Jesus Christ in the 2004 film The Passion of the Christ.

Please share your thoughts about this article.

