RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 19, 2009

Reading 2000

Posted on

Reading has never been so difficult in this Era of the Internet.

CB068378

Books are for crooks. Eeeep!

I mean to say, back in the old days, reading a book in some comfortable corner used to be heavenly. Now it’s beginning to become a bore. Like in my case, I couldn’t stay put. My attention span has reverted like that of a child’s. Or even worse.

Last month, as I was accompanying my wife and kids in buying school supplies, I grabbed a copy of Michael Crichton’s Airframe. In the old days, I can finish a novel in a day or two or a week at the most no matter how thick the book is. Now it’s July, and I’m not even done with chapter five of that book.

And I started to write this post at 9:45 PM! And as I write this, it’s exactly 11:01 PM! No, it’s not that I’ve been having a difficult time in thinking of what to write; it’s just that I just can’t help myself from surfing the net.

Everything has become fast paced. The world has become smaller. Not to mention time. This reminds me when a young José Rizal was bound for Biñán, La Laguna to study there. According to his diary, the trip took hours (perhaps two or three)! And he was just from “nearby” Calambâ! But of course, the mode of transportation back then were horse-, cow-, and carabao-drawn carriages. Today, you could go from Makati City to Calambâ within an hour (sans traffic the terrible).

Technology and innovation have made life easier for humans. However, I noticed that it has somehow affected the attention span of many people. Since one of technology’s aims is to provide real-time or “right away, right now” service, today’s generation is beginning to get used to receive their information in a jiffy. A few years ago, when I was in my elementary days, calculators were a bane for Math teachers; they just hate it when their students rely on those electric gadgets to solve simple-to-complex equations. Of course, they had a point. Were calculators used in building the Pyramids of Egypt? There were calculators back then — the human mind.

Sometimes, if not all the time, the traditional way of accomplishing a task is still the best way of getting things done.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 779 other followers

